Saumik Biswas, PhD’20, is one of four entrepreneurs who had the opportunity to pitch their business to potential investors at this year’s Western Angels’ Demo Day. He co-founded the medical technology company Tenomix.

Dr. Andrea Chittle, MD’08, received the 2021 Award of Excellence from the Ontario College of Family Physicians.
Dr. Eddy Fan, MD’01, has joined Inspira Technologies’ Scientific Advisory Board.

Dr. Rick Glazier, MD’79, received the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award from the College of Family Physicians of Canada, recognizing his achievements in research.
Dr. Marnix E. Heersink, MD’73, recently gifted $95 million to the University of Alabama at Birmingham’s School of Medicine. It will now be named the UAB Marnix E. Heersink School of Medicine.
Ivan Kosik, PhD’18, is the winner of the 2022 SPIE-Franz Hillenkamp Postdoctoral Fellowship in Problem-Driven Biomedical Optics and Analytics. The $75,000 annual award will support his postdoctoral research in developing an innovative and effective treatment for prostate cancer.
Dr. Jane Philpott, MD’84, received the 2021 W. Victor Johnston Award from the College of Family Physicians of Canada, recognizing her achievements as a leader in family medicine.
Dr. Teresa Purzner, MD’09, was named as among Canada’s Top 40 Under 40, celebrating her achievements in research, neurosurgery and entrepreneurship.
Drs. Matthew Renaud, MD’18, resident alumnus, and Stacey Speer, resident alumna, recently joined the team at Chatham-Kent Health Alliance. Dr. Renaud is an emergency physician and Dr. Speer is a radiologist.
Susan G. Stanton, MClSc’84, PhD, is part of the research team that identified the first gene for a common cause of hearing loss in adults