Group of surgeons standing around a patient in the OR

The Division of Orthopaedic Surgery at the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, Western University in London, Ontario, has grown into one of the premiere training programs recognized by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. The Division currently includes 29 Orthopaedic Surgeons, who contribute to six Clinical Teaching Units located at the three hospital sites in London.

The orthopaedic subspecialty Clinical Teaching Units are: Lower Limb Arthroplasty at London Health Sciences Centre - University Hospital; Sports Medicine at the Fowler Kennedy Sport Medicine Clinic (3M Centre UWO); Paediatric Orthopaedics, Spine, and Trauma, Foot and Ankle at London Health Sciences Centre - Victoria Hospital; and Hand and Upper Limb at the Roth McFarlane Hand and Upper Limb Centre - St. Joseph's Health Care.

The Orthopaedic Surgery Residency Training program is five years in duration. The program currently has 24 residents enrolled in the training program. We accept Clinical/Research Fellows into each of the CTU's, all of whom have full-time research scientists and laboratories. 

The Office of Surgical Education has played a strategic role in the increase in medical education in Southwestern Ontario through the Southwestern Ontario Medical Education Network (SWOMEN), a partnership of over 40 communities throughout Southwest Ontario including Windsor, providing Rural Regional medical education and training experience to undergraduate and postgraduate trainees from the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry.