Dr. William J. Sibbald Annual Lecture

WJS HeadshotWilliam (Bill) Sibbald was a pioneer and a leader in caring for critically ill patients.  He received his undergraduate and post-graduate training at the University of Western Ontario, Wayne State University, and the University of Wisconsin.  Between 1977 and 2000, he created and developed the Richard and Jean Ivey Critical Care and Trauma Unit of Victoria Hospital at the University of Western Ontario.  In 2000, he became the Physician-in-Chief at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre at the University of Toronto.  Bill’s energy, breadth of knowledge, and influence in critical care, research, teaching, mentorship, and administration was legendary.  Although his initial research focused upon cardiovascular function, sepsis and trauma, Bill was a leader in all aspects of acute care - from the bench to the bedside to the boardroom.  He touched the lives of generations of clinicians and academic leaders in critical care around the world.  

The William J. Sibbald Lectureship was established in 2007 to honour his memory and his legacy of excellence. The Sibbald Lecturer is invited to address the members of the faculties of Western University and the University of Toronto each year in London and Toronto 

Dr. William J. Sibbald Lectureship 2024
Wednesday, May 15, 2024  0700-0800



Dr. Jan Jansen, MBBS, Ph.D.


List of Distinguished Speakers - Dr. William J. Sibbald Lectureship

List of WJS Lecturers
Year Lecturer Country
2008 Charles Sprung Jerusalem, Isreal
2009 Deborah Cook Hamilton, Canada
2010 Mervyn Singer London, England
2011 Paul Hébert Ottawa, Canada
2012 Arthur Slutsky Toronto, Canada
2013 Daren Heyland Kingston, Canada
2014 Deferred
2015 James Downar
Robert Sibbald
Toronto, Canada
London, Canada
2016 David Menon Cambridge, UK
2017 Gordon Rubenfeld Toronto, Canada
2018 Robert Fowler Toronto, Canada
2019 Lorelei Lingard London, Canada
2020 Marlies Ostermann (virtual lecture) London, UK
2021 & 2022 Deferred - COVID
2023 Hannah Wunsch Toronto, Canada
2024 Jan Jansen TBA