Schulich school of Medicine and Dentistry logo Medical Biophysics Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry


Annually, our Department hosts a full day seminar, in honour of the late Dr. A.C. Burton.

On April 24, 2014 we welcomed Dr. Zaver Bhujwalla from Johns Hopkins Medical as our guest speaker. Dr. Bhujwalla is a Professor of Radiation and Oncology, as well as the Director of the Molecular Imaging Program.  More information on Dr. Bhujwalla can be found here. The itinerary for the day can be viewed here.

Student speakers were John Patrick (Construction of an Attenuation Map for a PET/MRI Breast Coil) and Donna Murrell (Heterogeneity of Brain Metastatic Breast Cancer and Response to Radiotherapy Detected by MRI).

Annually, during the A.C. Burton Day, we award students with the Alfred Jay Awards. In 2014, the following awards were presented:

Additionally, we were thrilled to announce the creation of a new award, in honour of the late Dr. Alan C. Groom. The Alan C. Groom Seminar Award will be awarded annually to the graduate student who has presented the most effective seminar during the year. Medical Biophysics graduate students are required, each year, to present a brief seminar on their research topics, to an audience consisting of their peers and faculty members in the Department.  The seminars are evaluated by other students and faculty member 'judges' and the confidential evaluations are processed within the departmental graduate office.  Students are eligible to nominate one another for the award. The 2014 award will be presented on September 25, 2014 during the weekly Medical Biophysics Seminar.