Schulich school of Medicine and Dentistry logo Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry

Faculty Members

Alison Allan

Alison Allan

Department Chair & Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Cellular and molecular mechanisms of cancer metastasis, translational research, development of blood biomarkers of metastasis.
Medical Sciences Building, Room 443A; London Regional Cancer Program, LHSC, Victoria Research Labs, Rm. A4-132
519.661.4054; 519.685.8600 Ext. 55134
aallan3@uwo.ca
Biography
External link
Brian Allman

Brian Allman

Associate Professor

Medical Sciences Building, Room 474
519.661.2111 Ext. 88689
brian.allman@schulich.uwo.ca
Biography
Michele Barbeau

Michele Barbeau

Lecturer

Medical Sciences Building, Room 491
519.661.2111 Ext. 86756
michele.barbeau@schulich.uwo.ca

Nathalie Berube

Nathalie Berube

Associate Professor, Clinical Department Paediatrics

LRCC VRL A4 138
519.685.8500 Ext. 55066
nberube@uwo.ca

Tyler Beveridge

Tyler Beveridge

Assistant Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Using a fundamental understanding of human anatomy to improve surgical technique and post-operative outcomes. Our present research interests include collaborations in the fields of Urology, Plastics and Orthopaedics.
Medical Sciences Building, Room 486
519.661.2111 Ext. 86819
tbeverid@uwo.ca

Arthur Brown

Arthur Brown

Professor & Associate Chair, Research

Research Interests / Specializations: Design and development of experimental therapies to improve recovery and regeneration after spinal cord injury, brain injury and stroke.
Robarts Research Institute
519.663.5777 Ext. 24308
abrown@robarts.ca
Biography
External link
David Cechetto

David Cechetto

Professor Emeritus (active), Director of Rebuilding Health in Rwanda

Medical Sciences Bluilding, Room 432
519.661.4166
david.cechetto@schulich.uwo.ca
Biography
Sandrine De Ribaupierre

Sandrine De Ribaupierre

Associate Professor & MD, Clinical Department Clinical Neurological Sciences

LHSC-VH
519.685.8500 Ext. 58107
sderibau@uwo.ca

Martin Duennwald

Martin Duennwald

Associate Professor & MD

Research Interests / Specializations: The Duennwald lab explores the role of protein misfolding and cellular protein quality control in neurodegenerative diseases and cancer. Our research combines work in yeast models, cultured mammalian cells, in vitro biochemistry, and pathological studies.
Dental Sciences Building, Room 5008
519.661.2111 Ext. 86874
martin.duennwald@schulich.uwo.ca
Biography
Anna Farias

Anna Farias

Lecturer - Windsor Campus

Lauren Flynn

Lauren Flynn

Associate Professor (Joint Appointment with the Department of Chemical & Biochemical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering)

Research Interests / Specializations: Development of cell-based regenerative strategies for soft connective tissue regeneration, therapeutic angiogenesis, and wound healing; Design of cell-instructive biomaterials for stem cell culture and delivery.
Dental Science Building, Room 00061A
519.661.2111 Ext. 87226
lauren.flynn@uwo.ca
Biography
External link
Douglas  Hamilton

Douglas Hamilton

Associate Professor, Clinical Department Dentistry

Research Interests / Specializations: Pathology of impaired wound healing; design of novel biomaterials for soft tissue regeneration; cellular mechanotransduction and extracellular matrix synthesis
Dental Sciences Building, Room 0071
519.661.2111 Ext. 81594
dhamil2@uwo.ca
Biography
Victor Han

Victor Han

Professor & MD, Clinical Department Paediatrics

519.685.8500 Ext. 58306 
vhan@uwo.ca
Biography
Lisa Hoffman

Lisa Hoffman

Assistant Professor

LRI E5-118
519.646.6100 Ext. 61472
lhoffman@lawsonimaging.ca

Dale Laird

Dale Laird

Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Research program focusses on the role of gap junction proteins (connexins) and a related family of large-pore channel forming proteins (pannexins) in human health and disease.
Dental Sciences Building, Room 00077
519.661.2111 Ext. 86827
dale.laird@schulich.uwo.ca
Biography
External link
Patrick Lajoie

Patrick Lajoie

Assistant Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Models of protein folding diseases, aging, Huntington’s Disease, mechanisms of transcription, yeast genetics, design of fluorescent reporters and live cell imaging
Medical Sciences Building, Room 438
519.661.2111 Ext. 88220
plajoie3@uwo.ca
Biography
External link
Peeyush Lala

Peeyush Lala

Professor Emeritus (active)

Research Interests / Specializations: Research in our laboratory investigates cellular and molecular mechanisms at the fetal-maternal interface responsible for human placental development in health and disease, and those responsible for invasion and metastasis in breast cancer with a goal to prevent certain fetal-maternal maladies, and to develop new modes of breast cancer therapy.
Medical Sciences Building, Room 436
519.661.3015
pklala@uwo.ca
Biography
External link
Steven Laviolette

Steven Laviolette

Professor

Medical Sciences Building, Room 468
519.661.2111 Ext. 80302
steven.laviolette@schulich.uwo.ca
Biography
External link
Charys Martin

Charys Martin

Assistant Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Specializes in anatomy undergraduate medical education. Research focuses on evidence-based medical education.
Medical Sciences Building, Room 487
519.661.2111 Ext. 87128
charys.martin@uwo.ca
Biography
Sarah McLean

Sarah McLean

Assistant Professor, Clinical Department Physiology and Pharmacology

Medical Sciences Building, Room 203
519.661.2111 Ext. 88587
sarah.mclean@schulich.uwo.ca
Biography
Derek Mitchell

Derek Mitchell

Associate Professor, Cross Appointment with the Department of Psychiatry

Research Interests / Specializations: Interests include cognitive neuroscience approaches to emotional processes and empathy, and determining their role and modification in various psychiatric and neurological disorders.
Natural Sciences Centre, Room 202
519.661.2111 Ext. 84862
dmitch8@uwo.ca
Biography
Corey Moore

Corey Moore

Associate Professor

Michelle Mottola

Michelle Mottola

Professor, Joint appointment with the Faculty of Health Sciences in Kinesiology

Research Interests / Specializations: Best-practice strategies for a healthy lifestyle during pregnancy and post-delivery, how exercise and a healthy lifestyle impact women at risk for and diagnosed with diabetes or obesity during pregnancy and their babies up to one year of age, and the effects of exercise during pregnancy on mother and fetus.
3-M Centre, Room 2214
519.661.2111 Ext. 85480 
mmottola@uwo.ca 
Biography
External link
Silvia Penuela

Silvia Penuela

Assistant Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Cell biology and function of pannexin channels in healthy tissues and their dysregulation in cancer.
Medical Sciences Building, 426
519.661.2111 Ext. 84735
spenuela@uwo.ca
Biography
Marco Prado

Marco Prado

Professor, Joint Appointment with the Department of Physiology & Pharmacology and Robarts Research Institute

Robarts Research Institute
519.663.5777 Ext. 24888
mprado@robarts.ca
Biography
External link
Vania  Prado

Vania Prado

Professor, Cross Appointment with Physiology & Pharmacology and Robarts Research Institute

Robarts Research Institute
519.661.2111 Ext. 24889
vprado@robarts.ca
Biography
External link
Raj Rajakumar

Raj Rajakumar

Associate Professor, Clinical Department Psychology

Research Interests / Specializations: Novel strategies for disease modifying intervention in human neurodegenerative disorders
Medical Sciences Building, Room 464
519.661.2111 Ext. 80521
nrajakum@uwo.ca
Biography
Stephen  Renaud

Stephen Renaud

Assistant Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Reproductive biology and immunology, with a focus on development of the placenta and what goes wrong during pregnancy complications.
Medical Sciences Building, Room 428
519.661.2111 Ext. 88272
srenaud4@uwo.ca
Biography
Charles Rice

Charles Rice

Professor, Joint Appointment with the Faculty of Health Sciences, Department of Kinesiology

Arthur & Sonia Labatt Health Sciences Bldg, Room 411B
519.661.1628 
crice@uwo.ca
Biography
External link
Kem Rogers

Kem Rogers

Professor, Professor, Construction Oversight Committee

Clinical Skills Building, Room 3730C
519.661.3995
kem.rogers@schulich.uwo.ca
Biography
Walter Rushlow

Walter Rushlow

Associate Professor, Associate Chair Undergraduate Studies, Clinical Departemnt Psychology

Medical Sciences Centre, Room 454
519.661.2111 Ext. 85141
wrushlow@uwo.ca 
Biography
Martin Sandig

Martin Sandig

Associate Professor

Medical Sciences Building, Room 472
519.661.2111 Ext. 86815
martin.sandig@schulich.uwo.ca
Biography
Susanne Schmid

Susanne Schmid

Associate Professor, Associate Dean for Graduate & Postdoctoral Studies

Research Interests / Specializations: Mechanism of sensory filtering and sensory processing disruptions in autism and other neurodevelopmental disorders.
Medical Sciences Building, Room 470
519.661.2111 Ext. 82668
susanne.schmid@schulich.uwo.ca
Biography
Trevor Shepherd

Trevor Shepherd

Associate Professor, Clinical Department Obstetrics & Gynaecology

Research Interests / Specializations: Development of patient-derived model systems for the study of ovarian cancer metastasis and discovery of potential therapeutic vulnerabilities.
London Regional Cancer Program, LHSC, Room A4-836 
519.685.8500 Ext. 56347 
tshephe6@uwo.ca
Biography
External link
Krishna Singh

Krishna Singh

Assistant Professor

Medical Sciences Building, Room 414
519.661.2111 Ext. 85683
krishna.singh@uwo.ca
Biography
Paul A. Walton

Paul A. Walton

Associate Professor, Associate Chair Graduate Studies

Research Interests / Specializations: We study the age-related decrease in catalase import into the peroxisome, and investigate the effects of restoring catalase in a number of pathological conditions.
Medical Sciences Building, Room 474
519.661.2111 Ext. 86825
pwalton@uwo.ca
Biography
Shawn Whitehead

Shawn Whitehead

Associate Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Identifying and targeting early risk factors of cognitive impairment.
Medical Sciences Building, Room 454
519.661.2111 Ext. 80440
shawn.whitehead@uwo.ca
Biography
Katherine Willmore

Katherine Willmore

Assistant Professor

Medical Sciences Building, Room 488
519.661.2111 Ext. 88079
katherine.willmore@schulich.uwo.ca
Biography
Tim  Wilson

Tim Wilson

Associate Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Digitally enumerate and model the anatomical changes following maxillomandibular (MMA) surgery employed to correct obstructive sleep apnea. Measure neurophysiological behaviours (cerebral blood flow, eye-tracking, fNIRS) that accompany learning and/or skill acquisition in pedagogic environments.
Medical Sciences Building, Room 490
519.661.2111 Ext. 81587
tim.wilson@uwo.ca
Biography
External link