Dr. Michael Rieder has been re-appointed to the position of CIHR - GSK Chair in Clinical Pharmacology

In 1988, he became Assistant Professor in the Department of Paediatrics, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, Western University. Dr. Rieder became an Associate Professor in 1992, and in 1996, he was a Professor. Dr. Rieder’s previous administrative experience includes Acting Assistant Dean, Student Affairs (2009), Chair, Section of Paediatric Clinical Pharmacology (1992-present), Residency Program Director, Clinical Investigation Program (2005-present) and Assistant Dean, Learner Equity and Wellness (Undergraduate) (2012-present).

Dr. Rieder has trained more than 24 graduate students and postdoctoral fellows and has more than 200 publications. His research focuses on Personalized Medicine for children with the focused goal of drug safety. Currently his work focuses on understanding the mechanisms of drug hypersensitivity and the genetic determinants of serious adverse drug reactions, notably among children with cancer. In collaboration with fellow investigators, Dr. Rieder is studying the pathogenesis of drug hypersensitivity, exploring sources of variation in drug response in children, identifying novel biomarkers for disease and drug exposure, working on understanding the mechanisms of drug-induced renal injury and how to reduce the risk of drug-induced kidney damage, studying the use of saliva for monitoring drug therapy and studying the metabolism and kinetics of steroids in a number of conditions, including asthma and rheumatic diseases in childhood.

Dr. Rieder was the recipient of the Harvard Macy Scholar Award (1996), the Douglas Bocking Award (1996), Teacher of the Year Award, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry (1999 and 2000), a Faculty Scholar, Western University (2009), Canadian Society for Pharmacology and Therapeutics Publication Award (2010 and 2011). He was also named aDistinguished University Professor, Western University, and received a Special Achievement Award for the Development of Pediatric Pharmacology, American Academy of Pediatrics (2014).