When creating a page or folder in Cascade that you do not want on your live site right away you should set them to not publish or show in your navigation. This will stop incomplete content being published accidently or links to unpublished pages/folders appearing in your top or side navigation leading to dead links. (This is particularly important if you have more than one editor for your site.)
Set the "Include in Top & Footer Navigation" and "Include in side Navigation" radio buttons to "No". Then click on "System" and uncheck both the "Include when publishing" and "Include when indexing" buttons.
Set the "Include in side Navigation" and Sub Navigation in Top Nav radio buttons to "No". Also uncheck both the "Include when publishing" and "Include when indexing" buttons. (The folder and it's contents will be hidden and can not be published)
When you are ready to publish your content re-set all of the previous settings.
Taking these steps will ensure nothing gets published before it's time.