Schulich school of Medicine and Dentistry logo Graduate Studies and Postdoctoral Affairs at Schulich Medicine & Dentistry

Bringing home the goods

Representatives who participated in Canada Student Health Research Forum 2014.

Thirteen outstanding graduate students represented the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry and Western University at the Canadian Student Health Research Forum (CSHRF) at the University of Manitoba. And they didn’t disappoint, bringing home numerous awards. 

Gold medalists were Sarah Mattonen, Adrienne Elbert and Sarah Woolsley. Silver medalists were Christine Di Cresce and Sarah Svenningsen. Trevor Morey and Kathryn Nicholson received Honorable Mentions. Additionally, Sarah Woolsey, received a Gold medal at the Canadian Society of Pharmacology and Therapeutics Meeting.

“These results are outstanding,” said Andy Watson, associate dean, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies. “This Forum is open to the top five per cent of all PhD students from across Canada, and through their participation and the strength of their research and ideas, our students have raised Schulich Medicine & Dentistry’s national profile."

Held annually, the Forum provides a venue for health research trainees from across Canada to present their work, to network with their peers from across the country, and be recognized for the excellence of their contributions. It features research poster days, awards of excellence, tours, social events, and a symposium on a cross-disciplinary scientific theme by some of the world's leading scientists in that field."

Congratulations to all our Forum participants for being chosen to represent Schulich Medicine & Dentistry at the Research Forum: Christine Di Cresce (Microbiology and Immunology), Adrienne Elbert (Biochemistry), Victoria Fell (Biochemistry), William Hrinivich (Medical Biophysics), Jessica Kishimoto (Medical Biophysics), Benjamin Kolisnyk (Neuroscience), Sarah Mattonen (Medical Biophysics), Paxton Moon (Physiology and Pharmacology), Matthew Quinn (MD/PhD, Medical Biophysics), Adam Rabalski (Biochemistry) and Sarah Svenningsen (Medical Biophysics). 

For a complete listing of the Research Forum award recipients and their supervisors from Schulich Medicine & Dentistry, please click here