Schulich school of Medicine and Dentistry logo Dentistry Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry

Dentistry Research Day


2017 October 11      Learn More...
John T. Hamilton Distinguished Lecturer for 2017:

Kenneth M. Hargreaves, DDS, PhD
Professor and Chair, Department of Endodontics
San Antonio School of Dentistry, University of Texas Health Science Centre

presenting …
Pain Control: From Current Therapy to NextGen Analgesics

Dentistry classes and clinics are cancelled for the afternoon to allow all Dental students, faculty and staff to attend the lecture and Research Day. Schulich Dentistry Annual Research Day includes the following:

Poster Presentations

Student presentations are delivered by our summer dental, clinical graduate and basic science graduate students.  25-30 posters will line the hallways of Skeletal Biology Laboratories. 1:00-2:00 pm | Dental Sciences Bldg-Lower Ground Floor

The John T. Hamilton Lecture

This lectureship is awarded (now annually) to an outstanding dental researcher. It was founded in 1997 in honour of Dr. John T. Hamilton, who served from 1983 to 1996 as Assistant Dean for Research of the (then) Faculty of Dentistry.  The Hamilton Lecture is presented in conjunction with Dentistry’s Annual Research Day.  2:30 pm | Auditorium A - 3rd Floor, LHSC - University Campus

Previous Hamilton Lecturers:

1997   Dr. David Goltzman, McGill University
1999   Dr. Robert Pilliar, University of Toronto
2000   Dr. Christopher McCulloch, University of Toronto
2001   Dr. James Beck, University of North Carolina
2003   Dr. Laurie McCauley, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
2004   Dr. Colin Robinson, University of Leeds, U.K.
2006   Dr. Stephen Bayne, University of Michigan
2008   Dr. Don Brunette, University of British Columbia
2010   Dr. David Wong, UCLA School of Dentistry
2011   Dr. David Pashley, Georgia Health Sciences University
2012   Dr. Jaime A. Cury, University of Campinas, Brazil
2013   Dr. Peter Ma, University of Michigan
2014   Dr. Martha Somerman, Director NIDCR, NIH, Bethesda
2015   Dr. William Giannobile, University of Michigan
2016   Dr. Jocelyne S. Feine, McGill University