Celebrating our achievements

We are celebrating the achievements of our talented faculty, staff and students. Congratulations to Dr. Ted Osmun, Jessica McGaw, the Continuing Professional Development Department, Dr. Bryan Richardson, Dr. Chris Newton, Dr. Taryn Taylor, Dr. Saima Akhtar, Dr. Jacob McGee, the recipients of the Summer Research Training Program awards, Meds on the Run, the Medicine Classes of 2017 and 2018 and the Schulich Dentistry Fall Award recipients.

Congratulations to Dr. Ted Osmun for receiving the Canada’s Family Physicians of the Year award. Dr. Osmun is honoured for his commitment to rural family medicine and his dedicated work with First Nations communities. He has served in a variety of rural and remote settings, including Baffin Island, Manitoulin Island and Mount Brydges.

Jessica McGaw, Communications Coordinator, Communications & Marketing, has been awarded the Catherine Finlayson Academic Excellence Award in Corporate Communications. This award recognizes a graduate student from the Fanshawe College Corporate Communications and Public Relations program who has achieved the highest overall GPA and successfully completed a work placement.

The Continuing Professional Development department completed a very successful accreditation visit. The accreditors were left very impressed. They made a point of mentioning Dr. Richard Cherry (and Dr. Jatinder Takhar’s previous work) and Jason Eadie as foci of strength. Overall, they see a terrific potential for further development of the unit, particularly in the areas of scholarship and simulation.

Dr. Bryan Richardson was inducted into the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS) in September. The Academy recognizes those who have a history of outstanding performance in the academic health sciences in Canada. Dr. Richardson is one of only four OB/GYNs to receive this honour.

Dr. Chris Newton is the recipient of the Canadian Fertility and Andrology Society Award of Excellence for an outstanding contribution to and leadership in the field of Reproductive Medicine (presented in Quebec City in September 2014).

Dr. Taryn Taylor has been presented with the Carol P. Herbert Award for Outstanding Research Paper at the Centre for Education Research & Innovation Annual Research Symposium.

Dr. Saima Akhtar is the recipient of the Carl Nimrod Educator Award, bestowed by the Association of Academic Professionals in Obstetrics and Gynaecology of Canada (APOG) to honor outstanding achievement within the field of Obstetrics and Gynaecology.

Dr. Jacob McGee has been selected to receive the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology's Clerkship Teacher of the Year Award for the 2013-14 academic year.

The Summer Research Training Program (SRTP) Committee is pleased to announce this year's award recipients:

- The Dr. Glen S. Wither Award was awarded to Hao Li for his project "Navigation System for Needle Spine Injection" (supervisor: Dr. Terry Peters). This award is given for outstanding participation in the Summer Research Training Program.

- The Dr. L. DeWitt Wilcox Award was awarded to Patrick Anderson for his project "Defining the in vivo role of kidney injury molecule (KIM-1) in renal ischemia reperfusion injury" (supervisor: Dr. Lakshman Gunaratnam). This award is given to a student who has demonstrated initiative, drive, awareness of research, and the ability to persevere in completing an SRTP project. This is the highest award given by the SRTP Committee.

Congratulations to Meds on the Run, Schulich Medicine's running club, for their participation in the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon in October.

Congratulations to the Schulich Medicine Classes of 2017 and 2018 for a successful Halloween Food Drive. A total of 438 cans were donated to the London Food Bank. Read more.

With great celebration and School pride, more than 25 awards were presented to faculty and students at the annual Schulich Dentistry Fall Awards Reception on November 19. Dr. Lilia Marcela Ibarra was awarded the W.W. Wood Faculty Award, recognizing excellence in dental education. Dr. Jim Jean received the C.Y. Lung Award for outstanding contributions to the undergraduate dental program. Dr. Abdulrahman Al-Osman was presented with the American Academy of Periodontology Educator Award for his contributions to the undergraduate periodontology program. Click here for a full list of the student winners.